Okay, so I’m breaking my own rule…

I am not an early adopter of technology.

It took me several years to get my first iPhone, for instance, and then I opted for the tried and true 4S instead of the shiny new 5. And this texting stuff? Didn’t really start doing that until last fall.

Coca-Cola's new Freestyle dispensers are probably on their way to a fast food outlet near you. It gets a thumbs up (with apologies to Roger Ebert) from me.

Coca-Cola’s new Freestyle dispensers are probably on their way to a fast food outlet near you. It gets a thumbs up (with apologies to Roger Ebert) from me.

So when I was doing my epic test of fish sandwiches throughout the greater Oswegoland area and finally made it to Burger King, I was astonished to see an odd looking Coke machine in place of the usual fast food Coke drink station. But my buddy Glenn, with whom I was eating lunch that day, was an old hand at the new machine, called a Coke Freestyle.

He quickly ran me through the drill to get the thing to dispense a drink, which turned out to be pretty easy using the touch screen on the front of the machine. The most amazing thing to me was that the thing seemed to be able to spit out (metaphorically speaking) a truly gigantic number of different Coke products, including stuff you can’t even find in the store, and which you never see at a fast food place.

I like an orange soda once in a while, but I have to watch my sugar intake these days (another of the joys of blundering farther into old age) and diet orange just isn’t available at fast food places. But diet Orange Fanta was on the Freestyle. And diet grape, too. I’ve been adverse to grape Fanta, however, since high school when I spilled a drip on my leg and got a chemical burn out of it.

Anyway, I paged through the various selections for a bit and finally decided on vanilla Coke Zero, which you can apparently buy on-line, but which I’ve never seen in an actual store. And with that, I was hooked. The BK fish sandwich was outstanding, too, by the way, and rated second in taste behind only Culver’s.

Checking on line, I found the Freestyle carries up to 126 different flavors and varieties of Coke products. And so, my usually anti-early adoption thing has been put aside for the time being. Not that I’m ready to try just any other really newfangled thing right now, you realize. But just this once, I’m willing to give the modern world a whirl.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Oswego, Science stuff, Semi-Current Events

2 responses to “Okay, so I’m breaking my own rule…

  1. If I see one of these I’ll have to tell everyone I heard it here first!

Leave a Reply

